Max Verstappen won a dramatic wet-dry Emilia Romagna Grand Prix over Red Bull team mate Sergio Perez as Ferrari couldn’t deliver on home turf – Charles Leclerc spinning late on to finish sixth after Carlos Sainz retired.

The Dutchman topped Saturday’s Sprint and led off the line on Sunday, team mate Perez joining him at the front – while Leclerc momentarily dropped to fourth. The Safety Car emerged on the opening lap as Daniel Ricciardo tipped Carlos Sainz into the gravel and out of the race for the second Grand Prix.

With the track drying, drivers began to swap from inters to mediums on Lap 19 – Perez coming in before Verstappen, who led Leclerc into the pits one lap later. The Monegasque emerged just ahead of the Mexican, but Perez skated past for P2 with warmer tyres and then kept the Ferrari at bay.

A late gamble to pit for softs from P3 from Leclerc saw the Red Bulls follow suit and retain the lead, but on Lap 54 – again in chase of Perez – the championship leader spun and hit the wall at Variante Alta. He dropped down to ninth having had to pit for a new nose and softs, and recovered only to P6 at the flag.

22-24 Apr 2022, Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari, Imola

11Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING RBPT631:32:07.98626
211Sergio PerezRED BULL RACING RBPT63+16.527s18
34Lando NorrisMCLAREN MERCEDES63+34.834s15
463George RussellMERCEDES63+42.506s12
577Valtteri BottasALFA ROMEO FERRARI63+43.181s10
616Charles LeclercFERRARI63+56.072s8
722Yuki TsunodaALPHATAURI RBPT63+61.110s6
85Sebastian VettelASTON MARTIN ARAMCO MERCEDES63+70.892s4
920Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI63+75.260s2
1123Alexander AlbonWILLIAMS MERCEDES62+1 lap0
1210Pierre GaslyALPHATAURI RBPT62+1 lap0
1344Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES62+1 lap0
1431Esteban OconALPINE RENAULT62+1 lap0
1524Zhou GuanyuALFA ROMEO FERRARI62+1 lap0
166Nicholas LatifiWILLIAMS MERCEDES62+1 lap0
1747Mick SchumacherHAAS FERRARI62+1 lap0
183Daniel RicciardoMCLAREN MERCEDES62+1 lap0
NC55Carlos SainzFERRARI0DNF0

Note – Verstappen scored an additional point for setting the fastest lap of the race. Ocon received a five-second time penalty for an unsafe release.