A stunning drive from Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton in the Turkish Grand Prix gave him his 10th victory of the season – and, more crucially, saw him claim the seventh drivers’ title of his career, to equal the record of Michael Schumacher, as Racing Point’s Sergio Perez and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel completed the podium after a thrilling race in Istanbul.

Hamilton had started the race in sixth, risen to third midway through the first lap and then dropped back to sixth by the end of Lap 1 after an error at Turn 9. But a decision to change his intermediate tyres just once saw Hamilton drive a masterful race to claim victory by over 25 seconds from Perez.

The win alone was enough to claim championship #7, but it was even more assured after a disastrous race for Valtteri Bottas – the only man who could have stopped Hamilton winning the title today – who spun four times en route to a P14 finish.

Behind Hamilton, a dramatic last lap saw Sergio Perez overtaken by Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc for P2, only for Leclerc to overcook it at Turn 12, with Perez retaking second as Vettel made it through on his team mate to claim a first podium of the season.

Leclerc was left to cross the line P4 ahead of the McLaren of Carlos Sainz, while a spin-filled afternoon for the Red Bull pair left Max Verstappen and Alex Albon P6 and P7 at the flag, ahead of the second McLaren of Lando Norris.

Norris had claimed that place after a late pass on the second Racing Point of Lance Stroll, who’d secured a brilliant maiden pole position and Saturday and led much of the early part of the race, only for his race to unravel after a difficult third stint on intermediate tyres. That left him ninth at the flag, as Renault’s Daniel Ricciardo completed the podium.

For all that though, all eyes were on Hamilton, who was in tears as he was congratulated on his slow-down lap, after well and truly cementing himself into Formula 1’s record books.

144Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES581:42:19.31325
211Sergio PerezRACING POINT BWT MERCEDES58+31.633s18
35Sebastian VettelFERRARI58+31.960s15
416Charles LeclercFERRARI58+33.858s12
555Carlos SainzMCLAREN RENAULT58+34.363s10
633Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA58+44.873s8
723Alexander AlbonRED BULL RACING HONDA58+46.484s6
84Lando NorrisMCLAREN RENAULT58+61.259s5
918Lance StrollRACING POINT BWT MERCEDES58+72.353s2
103Daniel RicciardoRENAULT58+95.460s1
1131Esteban OconRENAULT57+1 lap0
1226Daniil KvyatALPHATAURI HONDA57+1 lap0
1310Pierre GaslyALPHATAURI HONDA57+1 lap0
1477Valtteri BottasMERCEDES57+1 lap0
157Kimi RäikkönenALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI57+1 lap0
1663George RussellWILLIAMS MERCEDES57+1 lap0
1720Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI55DNF0
NC8Romain GrosjeanHAAS FERRARI49DNF0